Crab cakes with Tangerine-Pecan salad

Since I like to cook, it surprises some that I don’t blog about food.

I made these crab cakes recently, and the presentation was pretty enough to take a picture of.  The recipe I used wasn’t my usual one – which I prefer but is seriously high in calories.  This one had some spices in it (Chesapeake Bay seasoning) that tasted a little off to me, but the recipe itself was lower-calorie.  I’m thinking of combining the best parts from both recipes to see if I can come up with a low-cal, good tasting version of crab cakes.

Salads are pretty easy to make interesting – I add:

Some sort of green. Buy “real” lettuce instead of lettuce in the bag – it’s crisper and it lasts longer. Green-leaf, red-leaf, butter lettuce as well as mesclun and spinach greens are some of my favorites.

Some sort of fruit. Oranges, apples, strawberries or raspberries are my standbys.

Some sort of nut. A small bit of walnuts, pecans or sliced almonds gives a salad a satisfying crunch.

Some sort of cheese. There is a low-cal or fat-free feta that is really tasty, or try goat cheese (yum).  Too much and your salad gets really high-cal (and expensive) – luckily a little adds a lot of flavor.  If you prefer more traditional cheeses, blue cheese gives the same sort of effect.

Some sort of meat (optional, if you are making your salad into a meal). A little chicken, pork or turkey on top or maybe a slice of crumbled turkey bacon (or real bacon) can make your side salad into a meal.  Use just a bit or else you are just using your lettuce as an excuse to pile on as many calories as you can, which sort of defeats the purpose.  Don’t use lunchmeat – meat leftovers will greatly improve the flavor.

A tablespoon or so of quick homemade dressing. A little balsamic and olive oil mixed with dried herbs (try oregano or thyme) and salt and pepper is my standby, but there are many possibilities.  Personally I prefer the taste of homemade dressing greatly over the globby, paste-like grocer varieties.  Also I can control the amount of sugar or high-fructose corn syrup that goes into them.

3 Responses to “Crab cakes with Tangerine-Pecan salad”


  1. 1 Crab Cake Guy April 25, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    The Tangerine-Pecan salad looks like an excellent pairing with the crab cake. Looking forward to serving it the next crab cake dinner I cook up. Thank for the great idea and brilliant photograph. -The Crab Cake Guy. http://www.crabcakeguy.com

  2. 2 KC April 28, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    To start, my name is not the “Crab Cake Guy”. I have to confess that I wish it were … I’m not worthy of the title, but I have made them before. I agree with you about all the salad tips – grocery store salad dressing is awful (although I’m guilty of it on tired, tired nights)! Maybe you are not surprised that my first “reply” was left because of food????? Thanks for the inspiration. Love, your sister-in-law

  3. 3 B June 11, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Mmmm. They look fantastic, K 🙂
    Crab cakes. Now I’m hungry. I wish I could cook fish at home…


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

IMAG0116

melissa reid

jessicab

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,569 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

