Riding that endorphin high

I attended my first homebirth in the wee hours of the morning a night ago – mom stoically sat in the birth pool, the only sign that she was working hard was light tapping of fingers and the occasionally quiet moan.  As soon as that birth wrapped up – about 6am – I get a phone call from my actual client.  “I think I’m in labor”.  Wee ha!  I go home, catch three hours of sleep, shower, then quickly shuttle kids off to grandma.  As kids are pulling out of the driveway, I get another call.  “My water just broke – we’re headed to the hospital.”  She was a trooper –  always had planned on an epidural but it didn’t take well and there were a couple of hours of really rough labor.  I got to earn my money, which always feels good.  Baby born right before midnight.  Both beautiful births – and I needed it.

Today is my little girl’s birthday – and driving home after a couple of births was the perfect way to kickstart it.  Now I’ve got to clean furiously for a birthday party this afternoon that I haven’t had the chance to plan.  Funny thing is I’m not even tired.  Ahhh…birth hormones (yep, the doula gets them too).  Don’t you love ’em?

6 Responses to “Riding that endorphin high”


  1. 1 Karen April 12, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I need a good one – things took a bad turn with my last client, they were nice, just medical drama – I’ll lie on your story until my next birth.

  2. 2 Tiarnna April 12, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Woohoo!!! You are raking in the births!!! That is awesome things are taking off so nicely for you. I am so excited!!!

  3. 3 journeytocrunchville April 13, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Yay for your first homebirth and great to hear about the hospital birth as well!

  4. 4 kris April 15, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    i’d give my right arm for a homebirth! hope your daughters b-day party goes well:0)

  5. 5 kris April 15, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    oh, and isn’t nice to get paid to do what we love??

  6. 6 leighsteele April 15, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    yes, i love the birth high hormones. they are powerful and amazing.
    Yahoo for you for getting these clients and raking in some $$. 🙂
    can’t wait to hear more stories.
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

