Meme time! 7 lists of 8 things

8 things I am passionate about
My kids
My husband
Birth/Breastfeeding
Equality/Human rights issues
Kindness
Learning
The power of travel to solve the world’s misunderstandings
Environmentalism

8 Things I want to do before I die
Be kind to others
Share myself wholly with those I love
See my kids blossom into whatever their hearts tell them is their path
Live for a while in another country (Yes, yes, I shamelessly stole Dan’s answer, but it would have made the list anyway)
Achieve inner peace, if only for a moment
Learn to speak a foreign language (maybe British?)
Learn to play guitar
Write a book
8 Things I say often
I can’t understand it when you use your whiny voice.  Can you say that again in your normal voice?
Stop hitting your brother/sister!
Everybody calm down…
Let’s take some nice, deep breaths… (Actually I say this both as a parent and as a doula)
You’ve already used up all your screen time today. (to Connor)
No, It’s never not okay to play with the chapstick on the carpet. (to Siena)
Let’s all just start over today, okay?
So…what time do you think you’ll be home today?  (To my husband)

8 books I have read recently
Hypnobirthing (Marie Mongan)
When Survivors Give Birth (Penny Simkin and Phillis Klaus)
Birthing From Within (Pam England)
Eat, Pray, Love (Elizabeth Gilbert)
The Doula Book (Klaus, Kennell and Klaus)
The Birth Partner (Penny Simkin)
Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth (Ina May Gaskin)
Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn (Penny Simkin)
(I do read about other things than birth – really I do!  I love fiction…just haven’t had a lot of moments to lose myself in a story lately.  But it’s in the works, once I finish my stack of birth books on the nightstand.)

8 songs I could listen to over and over again
Closer to Fine – Indigo Girls
Aluminum – Barenaked Ladies
Landslide – Fleetwood Mac
American Idiot – Green Day
Silent All These Years – Tori Amos
Revolution – The Beatles
The Distance – Cake
Carolina Blues – Blues Traveler
What’s the Matter Here – 10000 Maniacs
8 Things that attract me to my best friends
Sense of fun
Quick Wit
Intelligence
Sense of humor
Open-mindedness
Introspectiveness
Common interests
Divergent interests

8 people who should totally do this meme
Circuitbeta
Erin
Jennifer

Jessica
Singlemomleftofthemiddle

Smile
the other Kristina
the other AmericanMum

3 Responses to “Meme time! 7 lists of 8 things”


  1. 1 Cheeky January 23, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Yay! Thanks for tagging me. Two things:

    1. Landslide is also a song I never get tired of listening to.
    2. In terms of, “The power of travel to solve the world’s misunderstandings,” have you ever heard of Servas? I can’t wait to do it when my kids are older.

  2. 2 Dan January 24, 2008 at 4:47 am

    Perhaps we should swop houses.

  3. 3 Rachel January 29, 2008 at 7:38 am

    I didn’t ignore my tag, I just couldn’t think of 8 things for most of them! I must be pretty boring.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

