Superwoman

We’re curled up together on the sofa – Connor, Siena, and I, enjoying an early morning dose of PBS kids while we shake the cobwebs out of our brains.  Miss Lori comes on, with a gaggle of caped children.  “We’re superheroes today! What kind of superpowers do you have?” she asks the miniature Superfriends around her.  “I can count backwards!”  “I can fly!” come the replies from the kids on the television show.

I lean over to Siena.  “What’s your superpower?” I ask her.

She excitedly lifts up her shirt.  “I have nipples!” she proudly proclaims.

As a feminist-lactavist-doula-mother, I have never been prouder.

(It’s even funnier to know that she actually pronounces the word “nipples” as “hippos”…)

Sorry I’ve been MIA.  Lots of stuff going on…just mailed off my doula certification, finished putting together birth stories for my clients, and I’m in the middle of starting a nonprofit group and preparing for an expo where a bunch of earthy-birthy types and I will be exhibiting together, amidst a not-so-earthy-birthy crowd.  I’ll catch up with you all later.  I can’t imagine it will be much longer…that “Part I” in the last title is haunting me…

7 Responses to “Superwoman”


  1. 1 Jennifer January 10, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I have ‘hippos’ too! Does that make me a Superwoman? And does Miss Lori irritate you as much as she irritates me? 😉

  2. 2 Dan January 10, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Amy used to call them “nibbles” which was very cute. And whenever she saw mine she used to try to rip them off me, which wasn’t.

  3. 4 Agatha January 11, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Hahahahaha. Brilliant.

  4. 5 Hubby January 11, 2008 at 9:55 am

    A feminist in the making, I wonder where she got it from?

  5. 6 Annette January 18, 2008 at 7:24 am

    I love this 🙂
    glad to see you back.

  6. 7 Michelle Dunn February 15, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    That was wonderful, had to stop and laugh it for just a little bit! Thanks for making my day a bit better!

    Trying To Have a Baby – A Mother’s Story


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

