10 Things About Me

I’ve been tagged by Cheeky to do 8 things about me and by my first doula client to do 10 things about me (but I’ll keep her myspace page to myself for confidentiality reasons). So because there is nothing particularly interesting going on at my life at the moment and there is very little I haven’t shared with all of you about me (that I’m willing to share anyway), I’ll combine them and do the greater number – 10. Sound fair?

1) I have always loved Christmas. In college, I used to start listening to Christmas music in September. Because it was a “ber” month (you know, SeptemBER, OctoBER, NovemBER, and DecemBER) it seemed okay to dust off the holiday albums on labor day. Although I’ll admit to sneaking a listen or two in August as well. In my “old age” I’m not that much of a nut anymore, though. At least about Christmas music.

2) I really fretted over our Christmas tree this year after our old pre-lit one wasn’t so pre-lit anymore (only one strand still worked). Plastic or real? Which is the most environmental choice? Plastic trees you can re-use and you aren’t killing anything. Real can be bought locally and often organically (not around here of course) and aren’t made from petroleum-based plastics (PVC is evil!) and don’t contain lead (yikes). But the hubster is mildly allergic to real Christmas trees, or anything living for that matter. We entertained the idea of trying out a potted live Christmas tree then planting it in the yard, but how many douglas firs or nobles do we want in our yard over the years, in a desert environment no less? In the end we opted for a fake one, but I bought LED Christmas lights so I could feel a little bit better about it.

3) I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately. I’m chalking it up to NyQuil withdrawals. Hence why I’m up today at 5 in the morning after tossing about in bed until about midnight.

4) My SIL is at this hot springs turned hippy commune retreat/spa this weekend, probably meditating, doing yoga, reading ancient texts and walking around half-clothed, and I’m jealous. We’re talking about planning a trip there together soon. It will probably be the closest thing I’ll come to staying in an ashram.

5) Lately I have been having a few random “I want to have another baby” twinges. Nothing major. I probably wouldn’t even notice them except I know I can’t birth another child, because I don’t have a uterus anymore – It is probably just a bit of mourning the loss of it. But the reality of having a little baby in the house and being outnumbered by my children does not sound like something I want to tackle. Weird. I think most of it is just wanting to give birth again, and do it a little differently than my other two births (which, all in all, were really great, rewarding experiences, truly). I have all this knowledge now and wish I could put it to personal use. Sometimes it stinks to know too much- it sort of downplays the really great feelings I had at both births just because I’d make a few changes if I could.

6) I pee a lot. There are times it is almost a ritual – for instance I have to go pee almost every time I stand up. Or before I get into the shower. Or when I am leaving or coming home from somewhere. Or before I go to bed or when I wake up in the morning. It doesn’t matter if I peed 5 minutes ago – I still have to pee each time I do any of these things. OCD perhaps?

7) I don’t like to be touched when I am eating. I’m like a hungry dog munching on my vittles – I just eat much. More. Slowly.

8) I’m going to confess to going through the drive through lane a handful of times in recent months. If that wasn’t a sign of my depressive episode, I don’t know what was. Very unlike me. Also all exercise has stopped. These two things coupled with Halloween candy and Thanksgiving gluttony has resulted in my jeans not fitting so well. I’m counting the days until I feel up to starting to exercise again, but I’m not entirely sure what my new regime will look like. Usually I’m a walker but the cold air aggravates my lungs in the winter months until I get a cold. Good Christmas idea for me: a gym membership (with childcare vouchers thrown in).

9) I have not bought a single, solitary Christmas gift. I’ve been sick, people! Mostly I do all my Christmas shopping online. It turns out that it is probably just as environmentalist to do so. Yea. I really do not like shopping at all – let alone during the crowded holiday season. Besides at the online places it is so easy to compare prices, features, read reviews – what’s not to like?

10) I “speak” a limited amount of sign language. I have a deaf brother-in-law and picked up some of it from him. But I’m really slow, and my hands start making weird shapes that don’t mean anything, or start throwing in random letters that don’t belong in a word. So mainly BIL just reads my lips and ignores my hands unless absolutely necessary for comprehension. However I do have fantasies that my limited sign language might come in handy at a birth eventually…

4 Responses to “10 Things About Me”


  1. 1 Dan December 2, 2007 at 8:05 am

    I have I know a few hand signs. They probably aren’t in an official sign language though, and are a little too uncouth for public consumption.

  2. 2 Cheeky December 2, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Did you know that “vittles” is actually “victuals?” Not that I’m correcting you or anything (I only learned this myself a couple months ago) but I read it in your #7 and remembered all over again how surprising it was to learn that two words I had always thought were entirely separate were actually the same. This used to happen to me all the time when my real-life vocabulary starting catching up with my reading vocabulary, but it hasn’t happened in years. I just thought it was kind of funny.

    Anyway, thanks for playing along with regards to the meme. 🙂

  3. 3 Whit December 2, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    I took two years of ASL towards my foreign language requirement in college. I was really good at the signs, but the sentence structure killed me. I didn’t really see the point in writing English out in any manner other than what I’d been taught my whole life. I’m closed-minded like that.

  4. 4 leighsteele December 9, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    Very fun to learn these things about you! I’m a Xmas music nut, although my husband half-jokingly has put a ban on it until after Thanksgiving. Sometimes, in the middle of summer, I’ll break out in a roaring rendition of Jingle Bell Rock.
    Oh and about the fast food/no exercise? Be easy on yourself. I like to say that I think the whole eating yummy stuff and relaxing during the holiays is instinctual: we pack on some pounds and hibernate during the winter!
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

