Baby Number 2 Born!

I spent last night with my second doula client helping her be as comfortable and emotionally supported during her labor as possible. As per my usual policy I’m not going into extensive detail here for confidentiality reasons. But here is the factual rundown:

– 19 year old primipara (first time mom), financially disadvantaged but marriage full of love. A pleasure.

– After weeks of on and off exhausting prelabor, 39 1/2 week induction: membrane strip in office, 3 hour later AROM (artificial rupture of membranes) that brought on good contractions nicely and steadily increased. Mom worked through them beautifully relaxed and rhythmically vocal.

– comfort measures I provided: foot massage, leg rub, back massage (lots of this – my arms are tired!), reminders to find her breathing rhythm, tub, reminders to change position, and some position suggestions

– this was never intended to be an unmedicated labor, although mom went further than I think she had assumed would happen and got into a nice strong labor pattern, making it through a couple of rough patches to find her rhythm again

– light epidural at 4-5 cm where mom was able to move her legs and still felt milder pain with the contractions. When they got continously worse, the nurse was called in and we learned there was a button she should have been pushing (to our memory, this wasn’t mentioned – oops!) Still breathing a bit through contractions but able to get some rest, if not actual sleep.

– after only 6 hours of labor, mom is complete, and pushes beautifully for 45 minutes to an hour – after losing strength “I can’t do this just get the baby out” she feels that baby’s head and is laughing and pushing stronger than ever. Doctor almost not gloved up for delivery and mom almost delivered baby herself – baby is 8 3/4 pounds!

– No Pitocin augmentation necessary. Only minimal repairs (1st degree).

– this was my first time supporting a partner – he was a really great calming and loving presence for his wife and charmingly emotional – he held her hand, had loving words whispered in her ear, and shared lots of gentle kisses and touches and had some beautiful tears when the baby was born – which got me teared up too!

– this was also my first time being the primary breastfeeding support. Baby has great instincts and sucking refexes, and would latch on perfectly but would release after 5-6 sucks – I was stumped and called in the reserves and the nurse suctioned baby out as he was quite plugged up. By that time baby was getting sleepy but would wake right up in dad’s arms. By the time I left, baby had a good latch.

I got home just as Rich was waking up to go to work. Kids were shuttled off to a friends where I got a blissful 3 hours sleep. Funny thing is – I’m not tired. Can I do it again? PLEEEZE?

Counting the days till my next client is due – on call after Thanksgiving.

6 Responses to “Baby Number 2 Born!”


  1. 1 Jessica November 10, 2007 at 8:55 am

    Wow! I didn’t realize you were a doula! How fun! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience. Good for you!

  2. 2 Doulala November 11, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Ahh, that birth high! There’s nothing like it,is there?

  3. 3 Agatha November 12, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Well done you! & congratulations on the BF support. I think it required EXTREME patience… which I don’t yet have, so it’ sgood that i’m a student. My mentor will often spend an hour with a woman helping her get her baby latched on.

  4. 4 Jen V. November 18, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    How wonderful! They are lucky to have you. ~ Jen V.

  5. 5 doulicia November 26, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Congratulations! My recent births have been bleh. I’m glad to hear this one was a good one.

  6. 6 Rachel December 28, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Wow, sounds great! What an exciting job you have!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

