Pretending I’m famous for 15 minutes

Dan from Cafe Leone tagged anyone in his blogroll that hadn’t done the “Inside the Actors Studio” meme – the one that you answer Bernard Pivot’s questionnaire.  I might be one of the only people in the world who truly loves that show.  I wonder if it is still on the air?

As an aside, don’t you hate it when the actors pretend that they have to think about their answers to these questions?  Like they didn’t have them picked out weeks, or possibly years, before.  Is it just an excuse to do a little acting?

1. What is your favorite word?
I have to pick just one?  How about autodidact?

2. What is your least favorite word?

Frothy.  It is hard to say and usually refers to something disgusting.  My mouth even feels like it gets all frothy trying to say it.  That, or satchel.  Just ask my mom for the backstory on that one.

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually, or emotionally?
When people naturally seek out and find the goodness in humanity and themselves.

4. What turns you off?

Racism, homophobia, sexism, and jokes at anyone else’s expense.
5. What is your favorite curse word?
I don’t swear often – but am known to curse when I really need to get my point across.  There is something about a female blond pacifist dropping the f-bomb in a business meeting.  It gets results.

6. What sound or noise do you love?
My father used to say, “Listen. Did you hear that kids?  Quieter.  Yes, there it is.  The sound of nothing.  Isn’t it the best sound you have ever heard?”  We thought he was just weird.  At this point in my life, I tend to agree with him.  If I had to pick an actual sound, it would have to be the breeze blowing through some tall evergreens.  In a quiet forest.  Do you see a theme here?

7. What sound or noise do you hate?
“Play the drum, everyone, play the drum!”

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Midwifery.  I bet you never saw that one coming…

9. What profession would you not like to do?
I hope I never have to go back to my former life in marketing communications.  Writing, strategizing (is that a word? Strategery!)  and creating for the sole purpose of making people buy something does not make my soul feel good.  You are especially good at marketing if you can get people to buy something they wouldn’t actually desire had you have not done your job.

3 Responses to “Pretending I’m famous for 15 minutes”


  1. 1 Doulala October 18, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    I love that show! Yes, it’s still on the air. I think there was a new one with Billy Crystal last week (I missed it).

  2. 2 Dan Leone October 20, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Thank you so much for playing along. I love reading your responses!

  3. 3 Leigh October 21, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I am also a fan of that show and those questions. I posted my answers here a year ago: http://leighsteele.wordpress.com/2006/06/26/ten-questions/
    You crack me up with the comment about how the actors “act” when answering the questions. I’d never thought about it but you are right! How annoying indeed!
    I’m with ya on one of your favorite sounds. In fact, I just listened to the whistle of pine trees in the wind this week. 🙂
    And girl…puruse midwifery. If it calls to you, follow it!
    Lastly, looks like we are/were sisters in the business communication arena. I never want to go back either! I much prefer spouting my words on my own blog, with my own non-deadlines.
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

