A perfect day

Rich is out of town for a few days, deep in the Northern Alberta wilderness, staring up at endless starry skies, and shooting things.  It’s just the kids and me.

I’ve been feeling plenty guilty lately on how much time I spend on the computer or on my various jobs (I’ve added fitting leg braces to surgery patients as a part-time job in addition to my doula work), so yesterday I used Rich’s absence as an excuse to begin to rectify that.

We started our morning at the Mall with Grandma.  A book, a game and two new pairs of shoes later we left and met Aunt Anne and Cousin Sophia for lunch.  Red Robin of course.

After lunch we took advantage of the crisp cool blue sunny day and raked leaves.  I raked and the kids jumped.  Every kid should jump in at least one pile of leaves in their lifetime.  We checked that one off the list.

Then it was time to go for a visit to the library.  While the kids “played chess”, I scrambled around finding appropriate reading materials.  A book about jokes since Connor’s made up knock-knock jokes could use a bit of professional inspiration.  A book about bees that might soften Connor’s experience of being stung by one earlier this summer.  A copy of Where the Sidewalk Ends for some laughs.  Plenty of Seuss – the Butter Battle Book (which discusses the pointlessness of war – Connor’s been asking questions) and a few easy readers like Hop on Pop and One Fish Blue Fish.  Finally we picked up a few videos – Siena picked out Cat in the Hat, Connor picked out The Emperor’s New Groove 2, and I grabbed two yoga videos for me and one for the kids.

After the library, the kids and I did our usual tradition when Daddy is away.  We ate out at the local buffet.  For the price of McDonald’s, we can have a plate of food that resembles a home cooked meal that they get to pick out themselves.  The seniors who eat there are always complimentary with the kids’ manners.  Also Connor loves hearing all the Spanish speakers there and we discussed his mucho grande leche chocolato at length with much laughter.

A balanced diet and healthful food is NOT one of the things we were working on yesterday, obviously.  But I guess I can’t be the food nazi every day.

Last night after watching the videos, we cuddled up on the couch and I got to listen to Connor sound out a few of his first words.  Afterward, we learned about the difference between pennies, nickels, dimes, quarters, and dollars.  I’ll have to teach him about pounds and pesos and yen and such another day.

While tucking Siena into bed, her little eyes closed for the day during nighttime prayers.

So my goal this week while Rich is away is for me to spend more quality time like this, teaching and being taught; loving and being loved.

Alright – gotta go.  I’ve used up my “screen time” today.

1 Response to “A perfect day”


  1. 1 Leigh October 16, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    It sounds perfect indeed. What a wise and conscious mama you are, to seek these opportunities to nurture your children, and in doing so, allow them to nurture you. 🙂
    The only thing that could’ve made the day more perfect, perhaps…? CHOCOLATE!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

