Pulling my punches

Picture it.  Rich and I waiting for a nail to be taken out of our tire and patched at the local tire shop.  The whole family is in the waiting area.  The kids are happily munching on popcorn (I probably just gave away which tire shop it was, didn’t I).  There are a few other adults in the waiting area, watching television.  On the tube is the fight.  A couple of guys are bludgeoning each other with their boxing gloves.

Siena is dancing, ignorant of the violence on the TV.

Connor is fixated on the boxing match, shouting things like, “Punch him in the face!”

I’m vacilating between trying to explain that fighting is bad while talking to the sport of boxing and how it is just a game but they really do get very hurt – and putting my head in my hands wondering what to say or do.  Do I leave or change the channel?  The last time I tried something like that was when I laid it down on the use of the word “stupidhead” which has now, of course, become Connor’s favorite word.

Rich is laughing at me with his eyes, and with the whole situation.

What would you do?

3 Responses to “Pulling my punches”


  1. 1 Dan October 3, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    I’d punch the garage owner in the head.

    Failing that I’m not too sure, I shouldn’t imagine that one exposure to such violence will be too damaging. But speaking of the medias influence on our children i came across this the other day which I felt was very scary:

    http://www.pkmeco.com/familyblog/2007/10/onslaught.html

  2. 2 americanmum October 4, 2007 at 7:17 am

    I love Dove’s Campaign for Real Beauty. Great video. A wakeup call for me that I will need to talk to Siena about all this stuff by the age of 4-5, because sadly that’s when the onslaught starts. (Think evil Bratz dolls and such.)

  3. 3 myallusions October 4, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Ummmmm? What would I do? Let’s see. Rich is a pretty funny guy. I”m thinking I’d be sharing ‘stupidhead’ glances with him while trying not to blow snot bubbles.

    But that’s jut me 🙂

    P.S. I think I’m coming home this weekend, so if you have time for me and the 3 pound terror, give me a call!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

