Filler meme while I’m gone

I’ll be at my Aunt’s funeral this weekend so starting tonight through Monday I’ll be in Texas and unable to post. I didn’t mention her death last weekend because my posts were getting a bit depressing and I needed to lighten the mood a bit. The beer helped.

Anywhoo…I saw this post over at Doulicia and thought it might be fun. I did a movie one a while back — I’m much better at watching movies than reading books, so it doesn’t surprise me that I fare worse here. I looked up each of the books I knew nothing or very little about, and found that all had something to offer. It was hard not to italicize the entirety of the list.

Truth be known, I’m a sucker for such lists. But what is the significance of this one? I tried to look it up but to no avail. It seems this particular meme has made its rounds. Judging by the list, I’m guessing it’s the most read books of the 21st century…but don’t quote me on that. Interestingly, there are a lot of Canadian writers here.  And every is a work of fiction, but the Bible is in the list.  (I’ll plead the fifth.)

I’m tagging anyone who reads this…which probably accounts for a whole ten people.

Instructions:

Look at the list of books below. Bold the ones you’ve read. Itilacize the ones you want to read. Leave blank the ones you aren’t interested in.

Movies don’t count!!!!! (K. – Damn.)

  1. The DaVinci Code (Dan Brown)
  2. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) sitting on the bookshelf. Rich read it and I’ll pick it up soon.
  3. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
  5. Gone With the Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
  6. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
  7. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
  8. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
  9. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
  10. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
  11. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
  12. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling) Yes. I’m the only person on earth who hasn’t read any of the Harry Potter books. I imagine I’ll pick them up when they’re appropriate for my kiddies and we’ll read them together – and be surprised how much I’ll really love them.
  13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
  14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
  15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
  16. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
  17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
  18. The Stand (Stephen King)
  19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)
  20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
  21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
  22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
  23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
  24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
  25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
  26. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
  27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
  28. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C.S. Lewis)
  29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
  30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
  31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
  32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
  33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
  34. 1984 (George Orwell)
  35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
  36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) I think Rich might like this one though
  37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay) Maybe a book for Rich
  38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
  39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
  40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
  41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
  42. The Kite Runner (Kaled Hosseini)
  43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
  44. The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Mitch Albom)
  45. The Bible – maybe someday. I need to separate politics and religion in my own head first.
  46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
  47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas) Another one I think Rich would like
  48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
  49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
  50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
  51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
  52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
  53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
  54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
  55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
  56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
  57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
  58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
  59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
  60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger)
  61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
  62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
  63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
  64. Interview with the Vampire (Anne Rice)
  65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
  66. One Hundred Years of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
  67. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Ann Brashares)
  68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
  69. Les Miserables (Hugo) But I would love to see the musical.
  70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
  71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
  72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
  73. Shogun (James Clavell)
  74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
  75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
  76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gravriel Kay)
  77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
  78. The World According to Garp (John Irving) I’ve read and loved much of Irving’s books, but surprisingly never picked this one up.
  79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
  80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
  81. Not Wanted on the Voyage (Timothy Finley)
  82. Of Mice and Men (Steinbeck)
  83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
  84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
  85. Emma (Jane Austen)
  86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
  87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
  88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
  89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
  90. Kane and Able (Jeffrey Archer)
  91. In the Skin of a Lion (Ondaatje)
  92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
  93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
  94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
  95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
  96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
  97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
  98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
  99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
  100. Ulysses (James Joyce)
6 Responses to “Filler meme while I’m gone”


  1. 1 Cheeky September 20, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    I highly recommend The Handmaid’s Tale (and I can see you have it highlighted to read) but I also very highly recommend The Poisonwood Bible (which you do not have highlighted). One of the best books I’ve ever read.

  2. 2 jenefur September 28, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    I liked The Secret Lives of Bees. Came across it from my Salvation Army book raids. Also, I ripped off your meme on my blog. 🙂

  3. 3 Agatha September 29, 2007 at 4:38 am

    I love these lists – off to do it now!

  4. 4 bookbunny1258.multiply.com February 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    With a flurry in magical programs such as Charmed, Merlin and films like Harry Potter, the world of wizardry and witchcraft
    is growing in popularity. The Characters Appearances. It cannot be contested that Harry Potter has enthralled and enchanted millions all
    over the globe.

  5. 5 harry potter and the sorcerer's stone cast February 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Rowling has admitted to spending time in therapy before the success of the
    Potter series, living in poverty and recovering from
    a failed marriage. Toddlers have no sympathy for any living creature.
    It cannot be contested that Harry Potter has enthralled and enchanted millions all
    over the globe.


  1. 1 Another Book Meme « My Life in a Nutshell Trackback on September 28, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

