Leaving for vacation tomorrow

I’ll be kayaking in Idaho for four days and will obviously not have access to my computer, much less my phone.

My doula client was aware of the vacation when she picked me, however I will feel pretty awful if she goes into labor on one of the five days that I’ll be gone.  Honestly, I’d rather stay and attend her labor than go on the river trip – I’ll be thinking and wondering about her constantly.  She declined the idea of a backup doula, but she does have a close friend who will be with her, and we had that little informal childbirth education session so she’s at least got a few tools on how to support her friend.  Mom and I have been talking and emailing a lot and I feel really confident that she’s in a great mental place to really “enjoy” her birth, although that may seem like a strange word for it.

In any case, I’ll be calling her the second I have cell phone access when we come out of the water on Sunday!  And yes, yes, I’ll enjoy the trip.  Last year we had a blast.

“See” you all on Monday!

1 Response to “Leaving for vacation tomorrow”


  1. 1 Paula July 17, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Hello,
    Just emailed you about my friend Marion. Didn’t realise that you are a doula too. I will make it a favorite! Enjoy your vacation. Hope your gal waits till you return to have her baby.
    ~Paula


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

