How much is your body worth?

I’m stealing this from At Your Cervix. (She’s a labor and delivery nurse – you’ve just gotta love that blog name!)

Imagine you’ve just kicked the bucket. Your family is much smarter than the average grieving brood – instead of paying for an expensive funeral with all the stops, they decide to make a profit on your death and sell your corpse to science. How much would your body be worth?

Apparently my body would bring $6225. That’s enough for a nice vacation for the rest of my family. Since I’m primarily a stay-at-home mom and have no real income, at least financially speaking I’m worth more dead than alive. Isn’t that a nice thought.

Now no one get any funny ideas…if I have anything to say about it you’ll have to wait on your vacation for quite a while. I actually do enjoy my life.

(Coincidentally, I was playing around with this and if I were an albino paraplegic with elephantiasis and dwarfism, I’d be worth about $8440.)

4 Responses to “How much is your body worth?”


  1. 1 whit July 16, 2007 at 9:17 am

    $4600. I need to start drinking more and hitting the pills. It’s an investment for my family.

  2. 2 Kaitlin July 16, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    So that explains why my school never gets enough cadavers–they’re too cheap to buy them! <–that’s pretty sad, considering the ones we got last year probably came out to only about $4K each. And we only had 4 cadavers. For 163 students. Hmm… Just where is that $50K I’m paying in tuition money going, anyway?

    Of course, after experiencing what happens to cadavers donated to medical science, I have to say: JUST DON’T DO IT. It’s not worth it. There’s no price I could put on letting a loved one be desicrated in that way. At least, not the way it’s done at my school. *shudder* How does anyone survive med school without at least catching one nasty case of PTSD?!?!?

  3. 3 Richard French July 18, 2007 at 9:42 am

    We would never sell you! We would just prop you up in a chair and dress you up in funny clothes. – Hubby

  4. 4 americanmum July 20, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Your original value was $7.50, That’s the bill I recall paying at the Army hospital when you were born. Inflation! — Dad


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

