So I have my first doula client!

I’m not going to go into any details here as I want to abide to HIPAA code, but I have my first client! She’s a single mom in her early 20’s, due the end of July. She’s a multipara. Her birth partner will be a close friend. She also has a community of women who are really willing to adopt her and go over and above to help her with her needs – and it looks like she’s reached out on her own for help in the community where she can find it which is great. She’s knowledgeable about labor and wants the flexibility and control during the birth to figure out the best path for her – which meshes with my own philosophies very well. Both her and her friend are smart, funny and just a joy to be around. I think the birth will be great fun.

I leave tomorrow for my labor support training in Seattle. It will be amazing to meet a bunch of other women who can talk pregnancy and birth. Hubby is getting tired of being my only ears for this stuff.  🙂  Already via email there has been quite a bit of interest in the other classmates for meeting up for dinners, sharing hotel rooms, carpooling – it sounds like this group of women may just end up being the beginnings of a great birth community, in addition to building on my own knowledge and skill level. I’m bringing my laptop so hopefully I’ll report on the road!

4 Responses to “So I have my first doula client!”


  1. 1 guinever June 26, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Congratulations on your first doula client! I hope you have a great time at your training. I’ve always enjoyed being around birth junkies for an evening or a day or a weekend, just to learn from everyone and share stories and come back home refreshed. I like your recommended list. Ina May is my favorite!!
    Guinever, a doula and CBE

  2. 2 karen June 26, 2007 at 5:50 am

    Best of luck in Seattle and next month with this birth! You are off to a roaring start. Please touch Penny’s robes for me, or whatever…

  3. 4 Agatha June 28, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Congrats on your 1st client! Fabulous news! Enjoy your week in Seattle 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

