Bad times and good friends

Yesterday was a bad day.  Not only did I find out that Rich would need to be taking extra responsibilities at work but I injured myself badly in the most asinine way possible.  I hurt my rib coughing when I felt and heard a “pop”.  My guess, after googling and being an annoyingly misinformed patient I’m sure, is that I have “slipped rib syndrome”.  It hurts like @#!$!#@! like it must be broken, but it is not and I am basically laid up on the couch on ibuprofin for a few days.  The fact that it is not broken was verified from my OB friend who made a house call on his way to work (I realize that my rib is quite a ways away from my vagina, but he’s much more qualified than I am, no?).  Thanks so very much Dr. M, and sorry I wasn’t able to express my sincere thanks while I was standing close to tears in my own living room with your hand up my shirt.

Speaking of friends who go over and above to take care of me when I am down, I am also so grateful for the friends who, when I called to cancel playgroup at my house that afternoon, took Connor off my hands for most of the day.  They also called to check up on me today and are taking him to swim class this morning.   So Annette, Tia and Lisa – thank you so much.  Let’s try for playgroup again soon.

2 Responses to “Bad times and good friends”


  1. 2 Kaitlin June 19, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Do you happen to know any doctors in your area who attended osteopathic medical school (i.e. DO vs MD)? In our osteopathic manipulative medicine (OMM) class this year, we learned how to treat rib dysfunctions like the one you describe. OMM might well be able to get your rib back into place (so to speak) so that you can recover more quickly and with less discomfort. Just a thought. 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

