Food around the world

Cheeky pointed me toward Time Magazine’s photo essay on what typical families around the world eat in a normal week.  It’s quite interesting.  What family’s groceries do your grocery bags most resemble?

I think when I go grocery shopping next, I’ll take a photo of our groceries spread out similarly for all of you to see.  If anyone cares to join me, let me know and I will link back to you here.

6 Responses to “Food around the world”


  1. 1 whit June 14, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    the placement of the tv in that photo is great

  2. 2 Dan June 16, 2007 at 4:37 am

    I’m not sure you really want to see our groceries. A picture of bottle after bottle of diet coke isn’t too exciting.

    Oh, and spaghetti hoops, there would be some spaghetti hoops too.

    Did you get that CD I sent yet?

  3. 3 americanmum June 16, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Yes! We finally got the CD in the mail yesterday. The post office had our ‘hold mail’ order from our vacation held a bit too long…

    I’ve been enjoying it slowly in the car between temper tantrums and 20 questions. Maybe I’ll get a chance to enjoy it in it’s entirety eventually. There are a few songs I know and many more I don’t but the sound in general reminds me fondly of British radio. Maybe I can use your CD as a jumping-off point to find some new artists. Oh, and I *love* that Cure remix (the first song I think)?

    Actually I think your spaghetti hoops et al would be quite interesting. There are many differences in British vs. American diet and I was lost in a grocery store over there. Not literally thank God but you really never know what could happen if I were a more permanent resident.

    Oh and Whit, I never noticed how the TV anchorman looks like a member of the family in that photo – ha!

  4. 4 Dan June 17, 2007 at 5:47 am

    My American friend Greg and I swopped food food parcels last year with the aim of sampling each others delicacies.

    You can see my review of his parcel here and his of mine here (although you have to scroll down a couple of posts).

  5. 5 americanmum June 19, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Dan, your post is absolutely hilarious! But you are dead wrong about those peanut-butter cups…if my arse would let me I’d eat them all day long. What blasphemy – they are divine, I tell you! Divine!

  6. 6 Dan June 25, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    They are the food of the devil.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

