My new doula website (and birth pics!)

Over the last couple of days I’ve been putting a website for my doula business together. It’s still very much a work in progress. I’d love any feedback, positive or negative. I’m looking to strike a tone of acceptance/tolerance for any type of birth, and that I’ll be there to provide sound information on both sides of the coin and support her decision whatever that may be. The area I live in is very conservative and almost all women choose to birth in the hospital where their births are fairly heavily medicalized and intervention-heavy. I’d like to provide evidence-based information with a neutral tone – and perhaps very slowly I may be able to make a difference.

And as part of that website, I uploaded a bunch of pictures of my own birth experiences to my flickr account (see sidebar). Note that they are also in the hospital – there is an IV in my arm, there is a monitor on my belly, there was eventually an epidural in my spine and I am in bed. (I did, however go into labor naturally, birth vaginally and breastfeed both kids for almost a year each so I think I deserve a little credit…) My personal views about birth continue to evolve and if I were to do it all over again, I would have made some different decisions. But all in all I had very positive experiences. Don’t so many women go into birth work because they would have done things differently?

Alright. Next post won’t be about birth. Promise. (Can you tell I’m a little excited?)

5 Responses to “My new doula website (and birth pics!)”


  1. 1 karen May 26, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Your site looks great and your birth pics are so sweet!

  2. 2 Kulia May 26, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    I like it a lot – I think you did a great job of making sure that a variety of crunchy and non-crunchy Moms can see the usefulness.

    One thing that my doula did was have quotes, letters from Dads she’d worked with talking about how it enhanced their ability, rather than erased the need for them, to support their wives through the experience. You could talk about helping to empower the birth partner (girlfriend, mom, boyfriend, husband or whatever) to help the birthing woman have the best experience possible.

  3. 3 guinever May 28, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I love your belly picture! I went over to your doula website and it looks great, but I do want to offer one suggestion. You mention that you’ll meet with the couple three times in the last trimester–the first meeting serving as their interview of you. Maybe the doula scene is different in your area than in mine, but around here, if a couple wants one of the more popular doulas, they’d better book her a lot sooner than the third trimester. For some women, lining up a doula as part of the birth team is done in the first trimester. I realize there are some women who don’t realize they want a doula until after taking childbirth classes and learning about them or reading about them in a pregnancy book so it also may happen later in the pregnancy too. I think that leaving the timing of that first interview open-ended is important. Hope this helps! birthing blessings, Guinever

  4. 4 Agatha May 29, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I cannot for the life of me get onto your site – please can you post the URL or leave it on a comment on my blog for me?

  5. 5 Edgy Mama June 5, 2007 at 9:54 am

    No fair you looking so gorgeous giving birth!

    Great pics.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

