I’m going to be a doula!

I have a few people lined up for on-call babysitting so it is all systems go for doula training/certification!

Although this has been a long (long!) time coming, it seems sudden to me to be really walking down this path.   But, and I know this will sound corny, I feel like I got a sign that this was the time.  And her name is Penny Simkin.

Guys, relate this to Angelina Jolie teaching your college sex ed class or something.

For whatever reason, I had been thinking about the doula thing more than usual the last couple of weeks.  Then we got a wedding celebration invite in the mail for an old friend in Seattle – and I thought – maybe, just maybe, there is doula training available from Seattle Midwifery (my preferred school) that weekend.  And not only was there, but it was going to be offered by my all-time favorite doula and birth writer and the founder of DONA herself.

Now I have to get crackalackin’ on all this birth reading.  I’ve read most of the reqired texts already, but won’t it be fun to read it all again?  Yep, I’m weird like that.  But I’ve already discussed that, haven’t I?

So think of me on June 27-30.  I’ll be in Seattle with a bunch of women talking about vaginas.  (Just making sure the guys are still with me here.)

4 Responses to “I’m going to be a doula!”


  1. 1 Student Dr. Blaze (aka Kaitlin) May 23, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    This is awesome news! 🙂 It makes me wish I was somewhere near Seattle so that I could go, too! I’ve been staring at birth books since I was a baby myself. I’d say I’d want to be an OB, but I don’t like that OBs are trained to be surgeons first and doctors second. (And you thought you were Different! 😉 ) Doulas are awesome–and needed! It sounds like you’d make a great midwife, you know…. Have you seen the show “House of Babies” on TLC/Discovery Health? It’s about a birthing center in Miami; the director, Shari Daniels, is incredible. I heard her speak when I was working for a non-profit health organization in Miami. Anyway…I’m glad to hear you’re following this path–it sounds terrific! I wish I were in the Pacific NW so that I could babysit for you…alas, FL is a little far…. Save us stories about the conference/training!

    Cheers,
    Kaitlin

  2. 2 karen May 24, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    Congratulations! I’m glad you found some kid-sitters. And I completely agree, Penny is where it’s at. Please kiss her for me if you get a chance. Also kiss her for my sister and my husband, my sister read her book and doula-ed my with no other training and my husband was glad he had a doula – well, that I had a doula. Ooh, makes me wish I could train all over again, it’d be like a vacation in Seattle, all birth, babies, back labor, and pelvic floor muscles! Hurray for you!

  3. 3 Agatha May 25, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    You lucky lucky lady! I am so excited/jealous!!! PENNY! OMG!

    Well done you!

  4. 4 doulicia June 5, 2007 at 8:00 am

    I heart Penny. Isn’t she grand?


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

