Moveon.org and a presidential political debate

I’m a member of MoveOn.org, a progressive grassroots political action group 3.3 million Americans strong which backs such diverse agendas as getting out of the Iraq war as soon as possible, sustaining funding for public television, ending global warming and many other causes.  (I wish they would pick a side on GLBT issues, but I’m covered there by my membership in another grassroots group – the Human Rights Campaign.)  If you are like-minded politically, I urge you to join this group and help make a real difference in politics.

Currently  MoveOn is putting together a series of town hall meetings in which they will invite presidential political candidates to answer questions posed by MoveOn members.  Members will also be choosing which candidates to invite.  The first town hall meeting will be about the war in Iraq.  Don’t miss your chance to pick which candidates to invite and ask your candidate a question!

2 Responses to “Moveon.org and a presidential political debate”


  1. 1 Kaitlin April 5, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    So, when it comes time to vote for president, can I enter your name in the write in spot on the ticket? 🙂 Seriously, you should run for office. We need thoughtful, open-minded women like you in politics!

  2. 2 americanmum April 5, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Obviously you do not know me in real life 🙂

    I may be thoughtful and open-minded and I can string words together fairly well on a computer keyboard when I have time to put my thoughts together, but point-blank in front of a microphone (or, honestly, in front of even one other human being)? The words get all garbled and I end up at best not making my point very eloquently or at worst twisting my words into something meaningless, asinine, or plain insulting.

    I would love to work behind-the-scenes in PR on a political campaign though. Way, way behind the scenes. That’s not exactly gender-bending, sadly.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

