News from across the pond

No, still no hard news on if we are moving or not, only to say that as of yesterday we’ve confirmed it is still a possibility. To cut the pain of uncertainty I’ve enjoyed reading the British news lately – my favorite (no suprise here) is the very liberal Guardian.

So, since we have no news ON England, how about some cultural commentary FROM England?

Apparently it isn’t just the United States that suffers from puritanical ideals when it comes to breastfeeding.  A woman was told to leave a restaurant when she was inconspicuously breastfeeding her child because, according to the cafe owner,  “I can’t have someone breastfeeding while another table is next to them eating.”  What, you can’t have someone EATING next to other people EATING?  In that case, sir, it’s time to close your doors.

Slate has a hilarious essay up on nursery school admissions in London to which I can totally relate. Of course I was looking for schools in the lazy, hazy countryside of Somerset, which although I like to play off as a low maintenance gal, apparently I’m even more high-strung on some things than most Americans. Oy.

This explains some things about the British diet. My problem besides the lack of items on any given menu and almost complete lack of restaurants can be summed up in four words: where are the veggies? And no, potatoes do not count. I suppose I’m a veggie nut and am not typical but I’d love to have a fresh greens salad that wasn’t drowned by a mayonnaise-like substance or a meal that wasn’t primarily light brown. Before you rail on me, keep in mind, again, I was in Somerset, where things are generally much more traditional. In my experience London itself has amazingly delicious dining options which rivals any I’ve ever tasted. By the way, articles like this with references to shops, brands and other British cultural self-evident assumptions that go completely over my head is part of the reason that I feel like a fish out of water “over there”. I’m even more of a dork in England than in my own country, which says a lot.

And a little insight on why housing is so darned expensive in England. Even in Somerset.

3 Responses to “News from across the pond”


  1. 1 karen March 21, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    in-laws all British, husband first generation American,
    I’ve learned several keys to culinary happiness in England:
    beer, cheese, bread, apples, nutella.
    also try pub soups, stews and potpies.
    Never eat at restaurants, only in pubs or take out from Waitrose (good grocery store on level like nothing I have near me cause Whole Foods is fiercesomely expensive).
    Bonne Chance!
    May your wish (either way) come true!

  2. 2 americanmum March 21, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Mmmmmm………Nutella. Found it in Germany and it stuck.

    Thanks for the tips!

  3. 3 emma March 23, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I’m a Brit now living in the USA, and while I have mixed feelings about America, one thing I can say is goodness me aren’t houses cheap! Admittedly I am in Baltimore, but still. I wonder how you are going to afford a place in the UK??

    Tons of vegetarian/vegan/ethnic restaurants in London as you probably know, so you will be getting lots of veggies…if indeed you are moving to London.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

