Support our troops: send them home

If you listen to a lot of conservatives, they’ll tell you that the difference between them and us is that conservatives love America and liberals hate America…. They don’t get it. We love America just as much as they do. But in a different Way. You see, they love America the way a 4-year-old loves her Mommy. Liberals love America like grown-ups.  To a 4-year-old, everything Mommy does is wonderful and anyone who criticizes Mommy is bad. Grown-up love means actually understanding what you love, taking the good with the bad, and helping your loved one grow. Love takes attention and work and is the best thing in the world.
Al Franken

I like to see a man proud of the place in which he lives.
I like to see a man live so that his place will be proud of him.
Abraham Lincoln

What follows is a political rant.  I usually leave this sort of stuff for the big guys who are smarter and more articulate than me although I definitely have my opinions…but today I cannot sit idly.

Yesterday I read an interview of book author and war correspondent Chris Hedges in Salon.com.  In the interview he compares the current US government leadership to the beginnings of facist movements he has seen while standing in the middle of war.  Do I buy that Dubya knows he is a bad guy; that he has evil in his heart?  No.  But do I think he is purposefully deceptive and secretive to the American public and to the world?  You bet.  After all, when God him/herself is leading your actions, who else do you need to answer to?  Democracy goes right out the window.

This rings true to so many cases of facist government in the past.  Bush’s methods: secrecy, media control, creation of a blind following through flag waving and fear spreading, and encouragement of the idea that it is unpatriotic to disagree.  It reeks of lessons we should have learned decades ago and it’s scary. 

I’m not saying we’re presently in a fascist situation.  But I’m saying that we’re closer than what I’m comfortable. 

Reading this article followed quickly on the heels of my learning that George Bush’s grand plan for fixing the war in Iraq is to send more 21,000 more troops. 

I was hopeful that after the recent election when Bush announced it was time for him to do some thinking on how to approach the conflict in Iraq differently.  I wished that he might collect some bright minds and come up with a plan that involved apology, a plan to get our troops home, working with other countries instead of against them, sanctions & embargos or humanitarian aid (I’m not one of those ‘bright minds’ smart enough to figure this one out), and a worldwide agressive alternative fuel plan.

Well, we did get a weak apology although it is not clear what he is apologizing for.  The rest was just more fear-based propaganda and “stay the course” – except let’s do it bigger and better this time.

It’s time to end this nonsense.  Ladies and gentlemen, if you are a United States citizen I urge you to act.  Let’s stop this resolution from being passed.  Write to your congressmen and women.  Ask them to vote against increasing troops in Iraq.  Ask them to get our disillusioned troops home to their families.  Support them and love them – by helping them get back to the arms of their loved ones alive.

Write to your US Representatives

Write to your US Senators

And if you feel like throwing in a request for presidential impeachment, who am I to argue?

God told me to strike at al Qaeda and I struck them, and then he instructed me to strike at Saddam [Hussein], which I did.
– George W. Bush

Hence today I believe that I am acting in accordance with the will of the Almighty Creator: by defending myself against the Jew, I am fighting for the work of the Lord.
– Adolph Hitler

0 Responses to “Support our troops: send them home”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

