Day 4

Today I accidently slept until 11 am or so – so although I’m getting a full night’s sleep, obviously the jet lag is still somewhat in effect.

After a shower I drove straight to the village of North Petherton – a large village right between Bridgwater (where Rich will be working) and Taunton (the largest town of Somerset).  It has a very highly rated infants’ school (ages 4-5 through 7-8) so I wanted to check it out and look at the local area especially since it would be so convenient for us.

I liked the school.  I don’t have anything to base it on seeing as it is the first one I’ve toured but I would be happy if Connor ended up here.  Although he will not be entering into full-time school for another year, I thought it was important that we check it out since chances are we’ll be here for longer than one year.

Afterwards, I went across the street to the childcare center – also highly rated – that has a preschool session.  I got the assurance that preschool is publicly funded for 3-4 year olds up to 16 hours a week.  Yippee – there goes 125 dollars from our monthly budget! (not that England isn’t expensive…)  The childcare center was a very nice place.  I really liked the school’s owner, and the ratios are very good.  However I get the feeling it is a little less structured than what Connor is used to and I have no idea if this is a British thing or just at this school.  Although it has sessions, it is also a full-time child care centre and I would prefer it be only open for preschool (or as they say, playgroup).  The school is very highly rated through Ofsted and it seems they follow themes and there was a lot of interaction with the teachers and students.  I think it is a good choice for Connor, however I need to look at a few more schools before I decide.  And who knows where a rental (letting) will be available for when we need it.

After the school tours, I went for a little walk around North Petherton.  I saw several new neighborhoods and young families, which is a huge plus for us.  The houses looked nice, and there was a big field with some playground equipment like a slide, etc. in the middle of it.  I’ve included pictures of the schools, neighborhood and park below.

My growing muffin toppers and thighs are thanking me that tonight we went to dinner somewhere else.  The Plough is a nice pub right down the road from our inn.  The proprietor was a Canadian and we were at a table full of Rich’s American workmates – all very nice people.  There was one Scottish fellow and no, I didn’t tell him his accent was “thick”.  Lots of stories were told and we had a great time.  I’m sure we’ll see a lot more of these folks in the (weeks?/months?/years?) ahead.

2 Responses to “Day 4”


  1. 1 Jennifer Reyes November 29, 2006 at 3:29 am

    Hi Kristina!

    I’m so impressed with you – your adventurous spirit and love for life. The UK is going to be lucky to get you. 🙂

    Looks like I will be definitely be needing a new place of residence soon after Christmas. I’m doing fine and things are moving along smoothly under the circumstances.

    Can’t wait to see what you post tomorrow!

    Love,
    Jen R.

  2. 2 Ben November 29, 2006 at 4:27 pm

    Sounds like things are going swimmingly! Hope you’re both enjoying yourselves… tell Rich to knock back a pint for me.

    I hope you get a chance to hit Bath — the shopping is great!

    We’ll see you when y’all get back…


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

