Day Three

Last night we had dinner and spoke with a very nice middle-aged English couple which was fun.  The conversation turned into after-dinner coffee.  I managed to have my first American English vs. English English misunderstanding.  Apparently if you refer to Scots as having a “thick accent” it doesn’t mean the same thing as in the states – “thick” apparently means “stupid”, as in thick-skulled.  Oops.  Thankfully they weren’t Scottish!

I slept very well last night although Rich tells me he was awake in the middle of the night for 45 minutes or so.  Hopefully tonight will be the lucky night for him.

In the morning, Rich hooked up with Roy, his workmate, and bummed a ride off of him.  That meant that I had the car to myself all day.  Yippee – the open road!

But first I had myself a short walk.  I hiked up the hill behind our inn and down the historic road and had a look around.  It was truly beautiful, and I was kicking myself that I forgot my camera.  Hopefully soon I’ll repeat the trip (although the mud did a number on my brand new tennies) and I’ll take some pictures to share with you.

I first went up to Minehead, a coastal resort town.  Apparently most coastal resort towns in England have a bit of a shoddy reputation, so I wasn’t expecting much.  But it was a very nice place!  However the population there seemed a bit older and the services were more in line for the tourist vs. a resident, so I doubt it would be a good place to call home.

I moved on to Glastonbury/Street, which is a nice area.  Glastonbury is an important place in several religions including paganism and christianity, and is a pilgrimage site for both.  Along the main streets are many organic/vegetarian resturaunts and hippie clothes, etc.  It is a fun place and reminds me a bit of the Seattle U-District, or maybe parts of Portland, so I was comfortable there.  Street (a suburb of Glastonbury) is much more mainstream and is home of Clarks Shoes and the neighborhoods there felt comfortable.  It has an excellent school.  I really like the area but on a no-traffic day it took me 25 minutes to get there from Bridgwater (plus it has no railway -a necessity for England).  I’m thinking it might be a great place for us to visit and dine (fresh organic veggies!) but probably out of the way for us to live.

I had some extra time in Glastonbury and went to the famous Glastonbury Abbey.  It is an old pagan site, and legend has it that Joseph of Arithmea (I’m sure I butchered that spelling) who was Jesus’s Great-Uncle made Glastonbury the first Christian church in England right here.  It later became an important abbey and was burned down in the 1500s.  Glastonbury is also famous in King Arthur legend.  Find out more in the Flickr photos I hastily took before it started to rain.  I wanted to climb the Tor (the famous pagan/christian hill) but I was too cold and wet.  The Tor will have to wait for another day.

After Glastonbury I made my way back to the Inn and had a chance to relax before Rich came back from work.  It sounds like his day was fairly productive and they are making him useful already.  The BNG offices are very nice and he did a wide range of things.  He says to say that he is feeling the way you would expect him to feel for anyone starting a new job – a little overwhelmed with how much there is to learn – but he is enjoying it.  And he also says to say that he is missing American food (I have to interject here that this might be because we’ve eaten at our inn for the last 3 nights in a row and need to branch out a bit.  And that I am suprisingly not minding British food in the least.  Our chef at the Inn is fabulous and the food here is really first-rate.)

Check out the photos.  Hopefully more tomorrow!

1 Response to “Day Three”


  1. 1 Robin Haidacher November 28, 2006 at 1:13 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun – thanks for the updates. It must be nice to be able to travel around the world and know your kids are safe. Sydney sure loves her Aunt Peggy!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,570 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

