Countdown: 5 days to go

We’re leaving in five days to see Somerset, England for the first time and I absolutely cannot wait for our adventure to begin.

Rich will be in essence in the middle of a two-week interview situation, so I don’t plan on seeing much of him during the trip.  That means, it is up to me to make the most of my two weeks, practically and extracurricular-ly.

As we speak, I have another window of the browser open to make a car reservation – which I’ll be driving.  On the other side of the road.  With different road signs and signals.  I’m a flighty person anyway, which sometimes admittadly translates into my driving habits.  It would not surprise me if I spend most of the two weeks driving around lost in the English countryside.

Those who know me well know that I am a list-maker to the point of compulsion.  Sometimes I even make charts.  With three dimensions.  (Really.)  This trip is no exception.  Since my main goal will be to check out towns, neighborhoods and schools, I’ve created maps of each of the villages that we are considering making our residence, and located each of the schools I’m interested in on each map.  I also have cross-referenced these school locations with the school’s Ofsted report rating (how cool is it that in Britain, the government inspects, rates and writes a hefty public report on each school?) and the general personality of each of the areas.

My perfect find for a hometown would be an area of town where amenities like good restaurants and grocery stores are close, the school is excellent, and the feel of the neighborhood is hip and young.  I’d love if there were lots of young families with preschool age children.  Maybe that would give us a jumpstart on making some new friends.  Friend-making has always come more easily to Rich, but I’m going to have to bite the bullet and do some socializing on my own, I’m sure.

I’ve also got a list of minor chores I’d like to do while I’m there.  These are silly things but could be important to determine what our way of life will be like (personally and financially) after the move.  I plan on checking out a grocery store or two to not only price out a few things but determine availability of foods.  I will probably sit down with a paper (or maybe a real estate letting agent) and start checking out places to live, if only to get an idea of prices.  I hear opening a bank account in the UK is no easy thing for a foreigner, so I need to look into the logistics of that.

If I run out of things to do, I can always go sightseeing or shopping.  I’m not a natural-born shopper, but I need to check out the shopping centres of the area, and possibly make a trip up to Bristol.  There are lots of sights about an hour away for my travel-curious brain – Stonehenge, Glastonbury, and Bath are my top picks.

I’ll try to update the website from the road as we can – until then, have a happy turkey day everyone!

1 Response to “Countdown: 5 days to go”


  1. 1 Karen November 21, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    How exciting! Good luck in completing your tasks and definitely enjoy your trip.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 35,571 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

