Playing hookie

It must have been because I’ve been looking like a huge ball of stress for the past few days (weeks?), but I got a free pass from Rich this weekend to hide away from the family and do whatever I wanted/needed to do.  I was instructed not to come home.  Which was awesome, because I probably would have at some point if he hadn’t made that point clear.  And Siena got sick at breakfast the day I was gone (my man took care of it all himself – gotta love him) and Connor is throwing up today.  Not sure what I am going to do about that recycling meeting tonight – the first one.  Rich can’t go either – he’s got a late meeting at work he absolutely can’t miss.

So I spent my day starting organization of my childbirth education curriculum (with an hour break for yoga).  I hid out in various resturaunts and at the Library (it’s only open for 4 hours on Sunday). There are probably 100 or so required topics to cover (yes, they can be combined) and it’s best if you can teach the really important ones more than once in various ways.  I absolutely LOVE that I have the freedom to teach them in any way I see fit, and am taking the job of creating my course design very seriously.  It would be easy if I were the type who would just like to stand and lecture, but two things prevent me from doing that: 1) I don’t think it’s the best way people learn; and 2) I hate public speaking.  So I’ve found that instead of teaching, I’ll be facilitating.  And leading fun, interactive lessons that hopefully will not just hand information over to my class, but let them uncover deeper truths for themselves.  I don’t know how long it will take me, and I have some pregnant people willing to take my classes to be my guinea pigs for free – but they probably will pop before I’m ready for them.  Nevertheless I’m trying.

Most of the activities for my lesson plan are coming from my Passion For Birth class – which actually covered much more of the required topics that I could have thought possible.  But some of them are actually coming up from my own brain.  I’m quite impressed with myself.

There are a few topics that are more difficult.  How do you teach The Lamaze Philosophy of Parenting without just listing them out?  (I’m thinking a poster will suffice as we actively engage in baby care, breastfeeding etc. that day).  And how do you teach harmful substances while pregnant without being a scare monger?  (It’s an optional topic, and I think I’ve decided to skip it because a) it’s fear-based; and b) at the point people will be taking my class they’ll already have heard the lectures, and c) most of it is common sense – i.e. – don’t smoke and drink while pregnant.  I’ll stick with positive nutrition instead and the rest is implied.)

I’m really, really excited to teach my first class.  Worrying about that exam? I’ll save that for another day…

4 Responses to “Playing hookie”


  1. 1 Cheeky May 28, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I agree about the scare mongering! First time parents are so freaked out about everything and really don’t need more to obsess over. I was certain that my occasional desperately needed morning cup of coffee had permanently stunted my fetus (and when my baby failed to start smiling right at 3 months or whatever, that confirmed it for me) and I recall when I asked if it was okay to dye my hair, I got a lecture on how I shouldn’t even paint my toenails (which were already painted). We already know how bad and horrible we are as parents (and potential parents) in infinite ways. So much better to focus on the good things we can do instead of all the ways we can fail. :-)

  2. 2 Karen May 28, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Just like me, what I love about my classes is fiddling with the curriculum, changing it to suit the needs of my current students, adding creative elements, making it breath life, making it silly, honest and something people remember as they journey towards birth and parenting. There is always more information out there than I can cover in my class, so I try to encourage parents to think about their inner knowledge, not just information they don’t have (yet, because they can always get it if they need it.)
    When is your first class? What’s the exam like? CAPPA’s was a long take-home, but at least I could do it in bits over a period of time, I didn’t have to sit for it.

  3. 3 kris June 6, 2008 at 9:37 am

    sounds so exciting:) can’t wait to get to that point too.

  4. 4 Toasmtmaster Michael August 26, 2008 at 8:07 am

    In response to your comment “I hate public speaking” I would like to offer a suggestion. Check out Toastmasters.org. Most people who “hate” public speaking have unconfronted fears or lack confidence. The interesting facet of public speaking fears that always intrigues me is that we all speak in public everyday. Toastmasters’ mission is “making effective communication a worldwide reality.” The program can help you overcome fears and develop confidence in your communication and leadership skills. I read that you are very busy, and I can appreciate that. I would encourage you to visit a club and learn how Toastmasters can help you speak with confidence whether in a room of friends, leading a class, or perhaps in a “real” public speaking role. Best of luck!


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

IMAG0116

melissa reid

jessicab

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 34,971 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

