Obama on Hanford

Someone asked Obama about his stance on the Hanford cleanup project, which is where my husband’s company does the majority of its work and where most of my town’s economy comes from. Here was his response:

You’ve gotta love that he’ll admit when he doesn’t know something. I wonder what his debriefing told him? And someday, when he’s president, what will his legacy on the Hanford site be?

For those of you that don’t know, Hanford is one of the three sites where the Manhattan Project took place during World War II. Hanford was where the plutonium was created for the atomic bombs that was eventually dropped on Nagasaki. Today, there are millions of gallons of nuclear waste buried under the ground, much of which is very close to the Columbia River, and the project is primarily involved with how to move this waste to somewhere safer and store it in a safe way (turning the waste into glass, for example).

Note that today we know much more about nuclear power and the waste created is much safer and more manageable.

5 Responses to “Obama on Hanford”


  1. 1 Whit May 20, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I didn’t know that either- and I used to camp by the Columbia River. That’s pretty interesting.

  2. 2 journeytocrunchville May 21, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Um yes, it is a huge undertaking. My husband works there too. Have you heard the fabulous stories about the “hot” tumbleweeds? They were testing the tumbleweeds around Hanford and began spray painting the ones that were radioactive with orange spray paint. They stopped doing that when they found the orange spray painted tumbleweeds down in the Dalles (Oregon). The tumbleweeds get blown all around and eventually some wind up in the Columbia River and float downstream. I love that the Tumbleweeds are still there but now they are just not so blaringly obvious. Sigh.

  3. 3 dan leone May 24, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Thank you for making me smarter. I knew nothing about Hanford. Frankly, I always thought it was all confined to Los Alamos. I would love to see what Obama’s legacy will be “when he’s president” too.

    But, my hidden agenda, was to thank you for your comment and your wine suggestions! I am very excited about giving some of these a shot. Bizarre Massachusetts laws prohibit most wineries from shipping their wine to me, so I will need to see what a few local shops carry. I have heard of a few these.

    Thank you, AM!

    Dan

  4. 4 circuitBeta May 27, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I think only the material for the Nagasaki bomb was made here at Hanford. Not that it means anything to your point, just one of the 54 things I think I know.

  5. 5 Kristina May 27, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Yep, you are right! I’ll fix the post – on the off-chance that anyone else reads it.


Leave a Reply

Hello, you!

Flickr Photos

IMAG0116

melissa reid

jessicab

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 34,558 hits since November 21, 2006

Junk

blog stats

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

